September Goals

September is a favorite of mine.  It is the start of the fall season, especially here in the mountains, and there’s that “new school year” vibe going that makes me want to make new resolutions.  Am I the only one?

And then, a year ago, I got the most amazing little September gift that cemented my September love forever.  My baby boy arrived on September 1, arriving, I might add, nearly a week late.  And yet, he was completely worth the wait.  Entirely.  And I just love that we get to celebrate him at the start of my favorite time of year.  So happiest of birthdays to you, my sweet blue eyed boy.  Mama loves you to the moon and back.  And twice around Mars.  xo.

I knew that today would be packed with celebrations so I set my alarm for 5:00 to get in some early miles.  I knocked off another four strong miles this morning, the middle two at a quicker pace than the first and last.  I came home, smothered the birthday boy in kisses and then made sure to stretch and foam roll.  I feel like I’ve pulled something on the inside of my left thigh so I’m going to make sure that I give it the attention it needs.  Tomorrow is a rest day and I’m hoping that the rest and the stretching/rolling will nip this in the bud.

Since it’s the first of a new month, I thought I would set a few goals for September (see above regarding new resolutions).  This month I will:

  • Stick to my training schedule
  • Stretch and foam roll after every run
  • Keep track of runs (pace, feel, conditions, shoes, etc.)
  • Attend four yoga classes

What are your goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

