Weighty Wednesday

Weighty Wednesdays

I just want you to know that I’m fully cognizant of the fact that the alliterative title of this post is trite and most likely not recommended, but it could not be stopped.  I love a good alliteration.  My apologies henceforth.

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m trying to lose some weight.  Let’s call it baby weight, even though my baby will celebrate his first birthday in a few weeks.  And to be totally honest, said weight wasn’t completely lost after my first, who celebrated his third birthday last month.  Ahem.  So yes.  There’s weight and it needs to be lost.  It isn’t a great deal of weight, relatively speaking, of course, but it is there and I would like it to be gone.  It’s been so, so long since I’ve been able to comfortably fit into my very favorite jeans and I would like to be able to do that, regardless of the number on the scale.

My eating habits tend to be, to borrow a childhood rhyme we often recite to our curly headed son, ‘very, very good but when they are bad, they are horrid.’  We eat a fairly well balanced diet, but very often my problem is overeating said diet.  That coupled with emotionally fueled chocolate chip binges (horrid!) has left me with a solid 10-15 pounds that I have not been able to shed since I became a mama.

Finally, finally I’ve decided that enough is enough.  The weight isn’t going to lose itself so I decided to start making a concerted effort to monitor what I’m eating and to cut back.  To this end I started using My Fitness Pal (MFP).  Again.  I have a long and sordid history with MFP.  I started using it not long after my first child was born.  I would log a couple of days here and there and then grow so frustrated with the sheer amount of effort that was required to log every calorie eaten, never mind the additional effort required to stay within an allotted amount of calories, that I would give up on tracking after a couple of days.  Repeat, ad nauseum for the last three years.

Plus there was this little niggling voice in the back of my head that rejected the very premise of counting calories because I didn’t want to be that kind of girl.  No, no.  Instead, I wanted to be one of those effortlessly slender girls who could eat whatever they desired and stay pencil thin.  I didn’t want to be bothered with something as banal as counting calories.  No, I wanted to be uncomplicatedly thin.  Unfortunately, the reality of my genetics and eating habits will not allow it.  So be it.

Last Wednesday I returned to tracking, only this time I changed the way that I did so.  I did a little upfront work (calculating the calories in meals I eat daily, snack and meal planning) and a great deal of pre-logging of food and I decided that come hell or high water, I would track my calories for an entire week.  While I was hoping to stay within my given calories per day, I decided that my first goal was to actually track every day.  In the past, every single time I exceeded my caloric limit I would fall of the tracking wagon.  Staying on the wagon was my only goal for the week.

I’m thrilled to say that not only did I meet my goal, but I actually lost weight doing so!  I’m down 5 pounds after a week of tracking.  I think that number is a bit padded due to my sickness these past few days (I knew it was dire when nothing sounded tasty), but either way, I’ll take it.  Even in just one week, I became more aware of what I was eating, when I truly needed to eat (hunger vs. boredom), and how to better budget for treats.  Because there will always be room in this girl’s diet for a treat.

More than the weight and even more than the jeans, I’m hoping that this experiment will help me become more aware of the ways in which I’m fueling this body.  I want to go faster and longer and I know that fueling is a big piece of my overall training.  I’m going to try and hold myself accountable by reporting my loses (and hopefully I’ll only have loses, though I recognize that may not be the reality of the situation) here weekly.  On Wednesdays.  Weighty Wednesdays, you might say.

And oh, said training.  It is not going well.  I attempted a tempo run this morning and pulled out after just a mile and a half.  The sneezes and wheezes are still holding me back.  Too much, too soon.  I’m hoping that a couple more rest days will put me back in action, but every day that passes brings me one day closer to race day.  But I’m quickly losing my resolve.  More on that…tomorrow.

One thought on “Weighty Wednesday

Leave a Reply

